Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Michigan

K-8 standards only

Michigan's K-12 social studies standards name earning at grade 1 (1-E1.0.5) and at grade 4 (4-E1.0.7), and saving at grade 4 (4-E1.0.3), but no statute or rule read requires personal finance instruction below high school. MCL 380.1278a(3) requires a half-credit personal finance course for a high school diploma, and MCL 380.1165 only encourages districts to adopt model programs.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
1, 4
Standards document
Michigan K-12 Standards Social Studies (archived copy of Department of Education PDF, 2019 revisions) (2019)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

No statute read requires K-8 financial education. K-8 economics expectations include 1-E1.0.5 (ways people earn money), 1-E1.0.6 (how money simplifies trade) and 4-E1.0.7 (role of money in exchange, earning income); the standards' Personal Finance strand (E4) appears only in the high school expectations.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
1/2 credit course in personal finance
Effective date
Pupils entering grade 8 in 2023

MCL 380.1278a(3); may fulfill 1/2 credit of mathematics, visual/performing/applied arts, or a language other than English.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.