Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

Research

Check your state

What does your state’s law say about teaching financial education before ninth grade? Each state page describes what the law and standards say, what they do not say, and links the official source for every claim.

Last reviewed: 2026-10-19

51 of 51 (50 states and DC) reviewed.

  • Requirement before grade 912
  • Requirement, grades not specified6
  • K-8 standards only23
  • No K-8 personal-finance standards found4
  • Under review6

Small jurisdictions

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

All states

Status of every state and DC, the accessible equivalent of the map. Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
StateStatusLast verified
AlabamaNo K-8 personal-finance standards found2026-10-19
AlaskaK-8 standards only2026-10-15
ArizonaK-8 standards only2026-10-19
ArkansasK-8 standards only2026-10-19
CaliforniaRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
ColoradoK-8 standards only2026-10-18
ConnecticutRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19
DelawareK-8 standards only2026-10-19
District of ColumbiaK-8 standards only2026-10-15
FloridaK-8 standards only2026-10-19
GeorgiaK-8 standards only2026-10-19
HawaiiUnder review2026-10-19
IdahoK-8 standards only2026-10-15
IllinoisK-8 standards only2026-10-15
IndianaK-8 standards only2026-10-19
IowaRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
KansasK-8 standards only2026-10-19
KentuckyK-8 standards only2026-10-19
LouisianaRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19
MaineK-8 standards only2026-10-19
MarylandRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
MassachusettsK-8 standards only2026-10-15
MichiganK-8 standards only2026-10-19
MinnesotaUnder review2026-10-19
MississippiRequirement before grade 92026-10-15
MissouriK-8 standards only2026-10-19
MontanaNo K-8 personal-finance standards found2026-10-19
NebraskaRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
NevadaRequirement before grade 92026-10-15
New HampshireRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19
New JerseyRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
New MexicoK-8 standards only2026-10-19
New YorkRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
North CarolinaRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19
North DakotaK-8 standards only2026-10-19
OhioK-8 standards only2026-10-15
OklahomaUnder review2026-10-19
OregonRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19
PennsylvaniaRequirement before grade 92026-10-19
Rhode IslandUnder review2026-10-19
South CarolinaNo K-8 personal-finance standards found2026-10-19
South DakotaNo K-8 personal-finance standards found2026-10-19
TennesseeUnder review2026-10-19
TexasRequirement before grade 92026-10-15
UtahK-8 standards only2026-10-19
VermontK-8 standards only2026-10-15
VirginiaRequirement before grade 92026-10-15
WashingtonK-8 standards only2026-10-19
West VirginiaUnder review2026-10-19
WisconsinRequirement before grade 92026-10-18
WyomingRequirement, grades not specified2026-10-19

Data and methodology

Read how each state is reviewed, what the statuses mean, and the limits of this work in the methodology. The open dataset is free to download under an open license. It contains only entries that passed our publish check; states shown as under review carry no status.

Data, license and how to cite

State Policy Dashboard: explore every jurisdiction and compare states

Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026. Only North Carolina has a records audit of its districts; it is kept on its own site as a case study.

Citation

CENTS. State-by-state review of K-8 financial education, v2026.10.19.5, October 2026. https://www.centscampaign.org/states