Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

New Hampshire

Requirement, grades not specified

New Hampshire RSA 189:10, III says the school board shall ensure that personal finance literacy instruction is taught as part of the curriculum, and it names no grade. RSA 193-E:2-a lists personal finance literacy among the learning areas for which schools shall adhere to the state standards.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not specified
Grade range
No grade or grade range is named

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
None found
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

RSA 189:10, III and RSA 193-E:2-a, I(a)(10) are grade-neutral; RSA 193-E:2-a, II says the standards cover kindergarten through twelfth grade and III says public schools shall adhere to them. Ed 306.21(c) lists subjects for grades 1-8 and middle school without personal finance (social studies is listed as civics for grades 1-8 and civics, government, economics, geography and history for middle school). Ed 306.37(b) aligns social studies to the 2006 K-12 Social Studies Curriculum Framework, which could not be read, so K-8 personal finance standards content is unconfirmed. Ed 306.22(e)(16), Ed 306.23 and Ed 306.28(c) are high school provisions.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Half credit of financial literacy (Table 306-2)
Effective date
Students entering high school beginning in the 2026-2027 school year

Ed 306.23(h), Table 306-2: Financial literacy half credit. Ed 306.28(c) requires each district to establish competencies and curriculum for personal finance literacy covering earning income, spending, saving, credit and risk (rule titled Business Education Program).

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.