State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
New Jersey
Requirement before grade 9
New Jersey's 2018 chapter law 167 (section 18A:35-4.34) directs the State Board of Education to require districts to incorporate financial literacy instruction in each of grades six through eight. The 2020 state learning standards also include personal financial literacy expectations at the end of grades 2, 5 and 8, and graduation rules require 2.5 credits in financial, economic, business, and entrepreneurial literacy.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Grade 6
- Grade range
- grades 6-8
Grades K-8
- Grades required
- 6, 7, 8
- Standards document
- 2020 New Jersey Student Learning Standards - Career Readiness, Life Literacies, and Key Skills (Standard 9.1 Personal Financial Literacy) (2020)
- Required by law
- Yes
- Delivery
- Not stated
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- Yes
- Course length
- At least 2.5 credits in financial, economic, business, and entrepreneurial literacy
- Effective date
- Not stated
What’s missing for K-8
- A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (6, 7, 8).
Pending bills
- S3462 (2026-2027 (222nd Legislature)): Requires high school students to receive financial literacy instruction (amends P.L.2018, c.167; would allow grades 6-8 instruction in an appropriate place in the curriculum and add a one-semester or one-trimester high school course). Status: Introduced February 9, 2026; reported favorably with committee amendments by the Senate Education Committee on March 2, 2026 (First Reprint, official bill text and committee statement read 2026-10-19; sponsorship list updated 10/1/2026). Later action not confirmed (bill status page loads dynamically and returned no readable status)..
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.