Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Nevada

Requirement before grade 9

NRS 389.074 directs each school district board of trustees and charter school governing body to ensure age-appropriate financial literacy instruction for pupils in grades 3 to 12. The Nevada Academic Content Standards for Social Studies (revised September 2018) include financial literacy standards in grades 3-5 and a separate 6-8 set; the statute does not state a course length, assessment, or funding for grades 3-8.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 3
Grade range
grades 3-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Nevada Academic Content Standards for Social Studies (2018)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Statute requires the instruction to be included within a course of study for which the Council has established standards, such as economics, mathematics or social studies. Grades 3-5 financial literacy standards appear within the grade-level social studies standards (e.g. SS.3.26, SS.3.27, SS.4.30, SS.5.36); grades 6-8 have a dedicated Financial Literacy section (SS.6-8.FL.1 to FL.11). Whether any assessment or dedicated funding applies to grades 3-8 was not found in the sources read.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit of credit in economics and financial literacy (version effective July 1, 2028; earlier version reads economics)
Effective date
Not stated

NRS 389.074 also covers grades 9-12. NRS 389.018 lists a half unit in economics and financial literacy among social studies credits, subject to a stated exception. The 2018 standards include a Grades 9-12 Financial Literacy section.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.