Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Nebraska

Requirement before grade 9

Nebraska Revised Statute 79-3003 says each school district shall include financial literacy instruction, as appropriate, in the instructional program of its elementary and middle schools, which names both levels and so reaches kindergarten through grade 8. The Department of Education's January 2022 guidance describes the same scope.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 8 (elementary and middle levels named)

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Nebraska Social Studies Standards (approved by the State Board of Education November 8, 2019) (2019)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The statute says 'elementary and middle schools' and 'as appropriate' without naming grades; the Department's guidance describes this as grades K-8 and says it applies only to public schools. The 2019 social studies standards list Financial Literacy indicators at grades K, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 8 and mark grades 5, 6 and 7 'Not addressed at this level'. Districts report annually to their school boards under 79-3004 on district-determined measures.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
one five-credit course in personal finance or financial literacy
Effective date
2023-24 school year

79-729(2) begins 'Except as provided in subsection (4)' and applies to students attending a public school under 79-729(2)(a) and 79-3003; the Department's guidance describes the graduation requirement as applying to public and non-public schools, which differs from the statute text.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.