State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
Montana
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
Montana's administrative rules require a half unit of economics or financial literacy within the grade 9-12 graduation units (ARM 10.55.905, effective July 1, 2025), and MCA 20-1-102(9) is only a goal. The K-8 math items that mention money are coin and money arithmetic and the social studies economics standards name no earning, saving, spending, budgeting, credit or borrowing concept, so the two-grade-level rule is not met.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Grade 9
- Grade range
- grades 9-12
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- None found
- Standards document
- Montana Mathematics Content Standards, Appendix C: Financial Literacy Across the K-12 Mathematics Standards (2025)
- Required by law
- No
- Delivery
- Not stated
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- Yes
- Course length
- One-half unit of economics or financial literacy within the existing 20-unit requirement (social studies, math or CTE)
- Effective date
- Rules effective 2023-07-01; subsections 10.55.905(2)(c) and (2)(h) effective 2025-07-01; graduating class of 2026 first affected
What’s missing for K-8
- The sources reviewed show a requirement for high school. No requirement for any grade before ninth, and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels, were found. That describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Pending bills
No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.