State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
Missouri
K-8 standards only
Missouri's K-5 social studies standards, approved on April 19, 2016, name earning (income, labor and wages) at grade 2 and saving at grade 4, and no K-8 requirement to teach personal finance was found. The only requirement found is a half-credit personal finance requirement for grades 9-12.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Not confirmed
- Grade range
- The text could not be read
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- 2, 4
- Standards document
- Missouri Learning Standards, Social Studies Grades K-5 (State Board of Education, 2016) (2016)
- Required by law
- No
- Delivery
- Embedded in another subject
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- Yes
- Course length
- one-half credit
- Effective date
- Not stated
What’s missing for K-8
- State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.
Pending bills
- SB 1778 (2026 Regular Session): Establishes provisions relating to personal finance curriculum requirements for public school students. Status: Second Read and Referred S Education Committee (as of retrieval; no later action seen).
- HCS HBs 2303 & 2867 (2026 Regular Session): Personal finance curriculum in schools. Status: Committee substitute voted Do Pass by Financial Institutions (14-0) and Rules-Administrative (10-0) per the House committee summary re-read 2026-10-19; later action and final disposition not confirmed (house.mo.gov bill pages disallowed by robots.txt).
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.