Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Mississippi

Requirement before grade 9

Senate Bill 2294 (2026, in effect July 1, 2026) directs the State Board of Education to incorporate financial literacy components within the existing curriculum in Grades 6-8 beginning in the 2027-2028 school year. The same section requires a one-half Carnegie Unit personal finance course (or a full unit with at least half of its standards on financial literacy) for a diploma beginning with the graduating class of 2032.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 6
Grade range
grades 6-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
6, 7, 8
Standards document
Mississippi College- and Career-Readiness Standards for Social Studies (2022 filing; kindergarten and grade 2 money standards cited) (2022)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Section 25 of SB 2294 applies from the 2027-2028 school year and says the components go within the existing curriculum offered in Grades 6-8; it applies to accredited schools including public charter schools. The text read does not say whether the content is assessed or separately funded (the bill's funding section refers to Sections 13 through 23, not Section 25). Separately, the 2022 social studies standards already include economics objectives in kindergarten through grade 2 (for example earning money, saving versus spending, budgets, financial institutions); that is standards content, not a mandate. State Board or Department of Education implementing standards for Grades 6-8 were not located; mdek12.org was not accessible.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half Carnegie Unit personal finance course, or a full Carnegie Unit course where at least one-half of the course standards concern financial literacy
Effective date
Graduating class of 2032

Section 25(3) of SB 2294 sets this requirement for Grade 9, 10, 11 or 12. Before this act, Section 37-7-301 allowed (but did not require) district school boards to implement a financial literacy program for Grades 10 and 11, and a 2020 College- and Career-Readiness course curriculum filed with the Secretary of State includes a Financial Literacy unit. A news report quoting a Department of Education official says students taking the College- and Career-Readiness course meet the requirement; that was not confirmed in primary text.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.