Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Kentucky

K-8 standards only

Kentucky's Academic Standards for Career Studies and Financial Literacy, incorporated by 704 KAR 8:080, include financial literacy standards for grade bands K-3, 4-5 and 6-8. The statute (KRS 158.1411) sets a graduation requirement only for high school and does not name a K-8 grade in which financial literacy must be taught.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Kentucky Academic Standards for Career Studies and Financial Literacy (incorporated by reference in 704 KAR 8:080) (2025)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The standards contain financial literacy strands for Primary (K-3), Intermediate (4-5) and Middle School (6-8). The standards document states that the Department does not require a specific curriculum and that local schools and districts choose how to meet the standards; it also states that all content teachers are responsible for providing instruction in career studies and financial literacy at the primary and intermediate levels. The text read was the Department's file of the standards prepared for the Board in May 2025 (material incorporated by reference); the final June 2025 version was not separately compared. No statute or regulation text read names a K-8 grade in which financial literacy instruction must be provided, and 704 KAR 8:080 directs the financial literacy domain to the high school graduation requirement while applying the essential skills domain (workplace ethics) to all grade bands. Whether the K-8 standards are enforced as required instruction through other regulations (for example, program of studies or local curriculum rules) was not examined.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One credit in financial literacy (accepted as an elective) for students entering grade 9 on or after July 1, 2025; one or more courses or programs meeting the standards for earlier entering classes
Effective date
2025-07-01

KRS 158.1411 as amended by 2025 Ky. Acts ch. 58, effective June 27, 2025. The course must cover budgeting, saving and investing, credit and debt, insurance and risk management, taxes, and review of documents before signing.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.