Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Louisiana

Requirement, grades not specified

Louisiana Administrative Code 28:CXV.2305(B) says each public school student shall receive age- and grade-appropriate instruction in personal financial management, naming income, spending and credit, saving and investing, and borrowing, and it names no grade or grade range. The one-unit financial literacy course in Louisiana Revised Statutes 17:270 is a high school graduation requirement, and the 2022 standards name personal-finance items in kindergarten and grade 3.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not specified
Grade range
No grade or grade range is named

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
2022 K-12 Louisiana Student Standards for Social Studies (2022)
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

LAC 28:CXV.2305(B) (Bulletin 741, LAC edition Feb. 2026) applies to 'each public school student' and permits integration into an existing course; it sets no grade bands and no minimum time. Standards K.14 and 3.18 are the personal finance items; grades 1, 2 and 4-8 contain no personal finance standard (grade 2.14 refers to planning for the future for career goals only). The current text of R.S. 17:270 contains no K-8 instruction requirement. Assessment and funding were not found. The grade list reflects the rule's all-student wording, not grade-specific standards.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One unit (Financial Literacy)
Effective date
Not stated

R.S. 17:270(B)(1); amended by Acts 2023, No. 267 and Acts 2025, No. 48. LAC 28:CXV.2318-2319 list financial literacy as a one-unit course; effective dates not read.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.