Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Kansas

K-8 standards only

The Kansas State Board of Education approved the 2021 national personal finance standards in July 2022 and the Department's crosswalk says they were adopted as the Kansas financial literacy K-12 standards, with benchmarks for grade 4 and grade 8 that name saving, credit, borrowing and budgeting. Kansas Statute 72-3236 only directs the Board to develop standards and make curriculum available for districts to use, so no requirement to teach was found.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
No requirement found
Grade range
No requirement found in the text checked

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
4, 8
Standards document
National Standards for Personal Financial Education (Council for Economic Education and Jump$tart Coalition), adopted as Kansas financial literacy K-12 standards (2022)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Yes
Funded
Not determined

K.S.A. 72-3236(c) requires the State Board to develop standards for all grade levels within mathematics or another appropriate subject; (b) says districts 'may use' the Board's curriculum. K.S.A. 72-3236(e) requires financial literacy questions in statewide mathematics or social studies assessments. The KSDE crosswalk (June 1, 2022) has sections for Kindergarten-Grade 4 and Grades 5-8. No text read requires a K-8 course or instruction in a named grade.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit (KSDE describes a one-semester course)
Effective date
Class of 2028

KSDE says Kansas now requires one-half unit of financial literacy, starting with the Class of 2028 (KSDE page). The Kansas Register item is a notice of hearing on a proposed amendment to K.A.R. 91-31-35; the adopted regulation text was not read.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.