Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Iowa

Requirement before grade 9

Iowa Code 256.7(26)(a)(3) requires the state core curriculum to include financial literacy and to address students in kindergarten through grade twelve, and Iowa Administrative Code 281-12.5(3)(b) and 12.5(4)(b) define the social studies that must be taught in grades 1-8 by reference to that provision. The Department of Education states that financial literacy standards are mandated for all Iowa students K-12, and its social studies standards carry Financial Literacy content in each grade K-8.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Iowa Academic Standards for Social Studies (Iowa Department of Education) (2026)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Chain of text: Iowa Code 256.11(3)(a)(2) and 256.11(4)(a)(2) require social studies to be taught in grades 1-6 and 7-8; IAC 281-12.5(3)(b) and 12.5(4)(b) say social studies is 'as referenced in Iowa Code section 256.7(26)a(3)', which lists financial literacy within the core curriculum for K-12; IAC 281-12.5(16) separately incorporates 256.7(26)a(3) for 21st century learning skills. These are accreditation standards. No statute or rule names personal finance for a specific K-8 grade, and 256.7(28) core content standards cover only reading, mathematics and science. Kindergarten coverage rests on the K-12 wording, 12.5(2) (incorporating 256.11(2)) and standard SS.K.19. Assessment and state funding were not determined.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
One-half unit of personal finance literacy, offered and taught
Effective date
Not stated

Iowa Code 256.11(5)(k) requires districts to offer and teach one-half unit of personal finance literacy in grades 9-12; Department guidance of Nov. 13, 2024 states completion is no longer a condition for graduation.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.