Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Indiana

K-8 standards only

Indiana law (IC 20-30-5-19) requires personal financial responsibility instruction in the high school curriculum, and the state board allows schools to offer this instruction to grade 8 students. State financial literacy standards for the end of grade 8 and a middle-level Family and Consumer Sciences course with a Financial Literacy unit exist, but the sources read do not show a K-8 mandate.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not confirmed
Grade range
The text could not be read

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
8
Standards document
Indiana Academic Standards for Financial Literacy, Financial Literacy Standards for end of 8th Grade (archived) (2011)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

IDOE lists the 2011 grade 8 financial literacy standards in its archive section; the middle-level FACS course (grades 6-8) includes a Financial Literacy unit. The IDOE course guide describes grade 8 as a flexibility for schools, not a requirement. The statute text on iga.in.gov could not be read (page requires JavaScript), so the statute is cited through IDOE's description.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One semester Personal Finance course
Effective date
2029 cohort per the IDOE Personal Finance page; the IDOE 2025-2026 course guide says beginning with the 2028 student cohort

IDOE sources differ on the starting cohort year (2028 vs 2029); the statute text was not read directly.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.