Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Illinois

K-8 standards only

The Illinois Learning Standards for Social Science include Economics financial literacy standards in grades 1 through 8, and the standards document says they are embedded in social science courses and do not necessarily require stand-alone courses. The consumer education requirement in the School Code and the state administrative code applies to grades 9-12.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Illinois Learning Standards for Social Science
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The standards grid labels the Economics financial literacy strand as beginning in Grade 1 (codes SS.1.EC.FL through SS.5.EC and SS.6-8.EC.FL). The standards document describes its content as embedded in social science courses that 'do reflect state mandated content', but the statute or rule that requires districts to teach the standards was not read here because the Illinois General Assembly site blocked access; the status is therefore a judgement from the standards text and the ISBE summary of instructional mandates, which lists consumer education only for grades 9-12 and no K-8 financial education mandate. Grade-level coverage in grades 1-2 and 4-5 was read from the standards grid but is not separately excerpted.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Consumer education for 50 minutes per day for nine weeks, or the equivalent, in any of grades 9-12; may be included in other courses or taught as a separate required course
Effective date
Not stated

ISBE's 2025-26 instructional mandates summary cites 105 ILCS 5/27-305 (renumbered by Public Act 104-0391, formerly Section 27-12.1) and 23 Ill. Admin. Code 1.420(k) and 1.440. The superintendent must keep evidence that each student received adequate consumer education before completing grade 12. Whether this counts as a graduation requirement was read from the ISBE summary and the administrative code, not from the statute text.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.