Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Idaho

K-8 standards only

Idaho Code 33-1615 requires districts and charters to give all students in grades 9-12 one or more personal financial literacy courses, and State Board rules require one credit of economics and financial literacy for graduation. The adopted K-12 social studies standards include personal finance standards in kindergarten through grade 3 and grade 5 (grade 4 mentions personal finance only in its strand introduction), and the Board's thoroughness rule sets state standards as the minimum for grades 1-12 but names no K-8 personal finance requirement.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 5
Standards document
Idaho Content Standards K-12 Social Studies (2025)
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Personal finance appears as economics-strand standards in grades K-3 and 5; the grade 4 strand introduction mentions personal finance but no grade 4 standard covers it (for example saving, budgeting, banks, taxation). IDAPA 08.02.03 incorporates the social studies standards and says schools assure students meet locally developed standards with the state standards as a minimum, and that social studies includes economics at appropriate grade levels, but it contains no explicit requirement naming personal finance in a K-8 grade. Reading whether the adopted standards operate as a K-5 mandate is a judgement call. No personal finance strand was found in the grade 6-8 portion of the document.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
one (1) credit of economics and financial literacy; Idaho Code 33-1615 requires one or more personal financial literacy and money management courses
Effective date
Not stated

Idaho Code 33-1615 says completing the course fulfills the financial literacy component of the high school graduation requirement.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.