Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Ohio

K-8 standards only

Ohio law directs the state education agency to adopt financial literacy standards and a model curriculum for grades K-12, and the State Board approved K-12 standards in February 2018, but the sources reviewed do not require financial literacy instruction in any K-8 grade. The only requirement found is a one-half unit high school graduation requirement for students entering ninth grade on or after July 1, 2022.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Ohio's Learning Standards for Financial Literacy (K-3, 4-6, middle grades, high school) (2018)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Standards exist for K-3, 4-6 and middle grades (adopted February 2018; K-8 content unchanged in the 2025 revision). The statute text reviewed requires adoption of standards and model curricula for K-12 but contains no K-8 instruction requirement. A separate-source reading that Ohio law requires instruction 'for all students' could not be verified against primary text.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit (minimum 60 hours of course instruction); may replace a half unit of math or an elective; AP microeconomics or macroeconomics satisfies it
Effective date
Students entering ninth grade for the first time on or after 2022-07-01

Chartered nonpublic school students are not required to complete it unless attending under a state scholarship program. Districts may adopt a policy excusing students who complete a financial literacy program offered by a student branch or bank. 2025 revised high school standards must be used for high school credit.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

  • HB 669 (136th General Assembly (2025-2026)): Permit AP Business fulfill high school financial lit requirement (amends ORC 3313.603; high school only). Status: Introduced; referred to House Education Committee; no committee report or House passage shown on the House bill page as of 2026-10-15.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.