State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
North Dakota
K-8 standards only
The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction published stand-alone K-12 Financial Literacy Content Standards in July 2025 with separate standards for each grade K-8, and schools are encouraged to align local curriculum to them for 2026-2027. The state financial literacy statute (NDCC 15.1-21-21) is tied to economics or problems of democracy, which are high school courses, and the K-8 required-instruction statute (NDCC 15.1-21-01) does not list personal finance.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Grade 9
- Grade range
- grades 9-12
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
- Standards document
- North Dakota Financial Literacy Content Standards K-12 (Department of Public Instruction) (2025)
- Required by law
- No
- Delivery
- Not stated
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- Yes
- Course length
- One-half unit of financial literacy, or economics or problems of democracy curriculum that includes personal finance concepts
- Effective date
- Not stated
What’s missing for K-8
- State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.
Pending bills
No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.