Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

North Carolina

Requirement, grades not specified

North Carolina General Statute 115C-81.65(a) says instruction shall be provided in personal financial literacy for all students and names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8, and subsection (b) requires an Economics and Personal Finance course for high school graduation. The Board's grade 4 and grade 8 social studies standards include personal financial decision objectives.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not specified
Grade range
No grade or grade range is named

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
4, 8
Standards document
North Carolina Social Studies Standards, Grades 4 and 8 (Economics strand) (2021 (approved Feb. 4, 2021))
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Read in archived official DPI PDFs: 4.E.2 'Understand the impact of personal financial decisions' (4.E.2.1, 4.E.2.2) and 8.E.1.4. Grade 5 was previously supported only by a DPI family guide, and K-3, 6-7 standards PDFs were not retrieved (live DPI links 404 or removed pending accessible copies). G.S. 115C-81.65(a) is grade-neutral ('all students'); the State Board determines the other components.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
full-credit Economics and Personal Finance course
Effective date
Students entering ninth grade in 2020-2021 or later (S.L. 2019-82)

Passing grade required for graduation.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.

Pending bills

  • S393 (2025-2026): Betting and Addiction in Pers. Finance Course. Status: Ref To Com On Rules and Operations of the Senate, 2025-03-25 (last action).

Case study

North Carolina records audit

North Carolina is CENTS’ first place. We asked its school districts what K-8 financial education they provide, and published the replies in the North Carolina section. This audit exists for North Carolina only.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.