Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

New York

Requirement before grade 9

Section 100.2(c)(13) of the Commissioner's Regulations, adopted by the Board of Regents in March 2026, requires personal finance instruction for public school students in grades K-12, with delivery by the end of grade 4 (elementary) and by the end of grade 8 (middle). This is a regulation rather than a statute, and NYSED states it is an instructional requirement, not a credit or diploma requirement.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
NYSED Personal Finance Education grade-band learning objectives (five topics); no new standards created (2026)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Grade bands: elementary K-4 (instruction by end of grade 4, beginning 2027-28), middle 5-8 (by end of grade 8, beginning 2026-27). Districts need not teach at every grade within a band. Delivery may be embedded in required courses, a stand-alone course, or career and technical education; the FAQ describes all three as options. Districts and charter schools verify implementation to the Commissioner for 2026-27 through 2028-29; no student assessment requirement was found. No dedicated funding was found in the sources read.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
2026-2027 school year

High school band (grades 9-12): instruction by end of grade 12 beginning 2026-27. NYSED states it is an instructional requirement, not a specific credit or diploma requirement; Career and Financial Management (half unit CTE) may be used.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

  • S6805 / A8100 (2025-2026): Establishes instruction in financial literacy for students in sixth through eighth grade (adds Education Law 803-c). Status: Referred to education committee (Assembly A8100: referred 04/30/2025, re-referred 01/07/2026, per Assembly bill page read 2026-10-19; no later action shown). Senate S6805 page could not be read (robots.txt unreadable, HTTP 403)..
  • S1272 / A96 (2025-2026): Requires instruction in financial management for all students in grades four through eight (adds Education Law 819). Status: Referred to education committee (Assembly A96: referred 01/08/2025, re-referred 01/07/2026, per Assembly bill page read 2026-10-19; no later action shown). Senate S1272 page could not be read (robots.txt unreadable, HTTP 403)..

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.