Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Wisconsin

Requirement before grade 9

Wisconsin law (section 121.02(1)(L)7) directs each school board to adopt financial literacy standards and incorporate financial literacy instruction into the curriculum in grades kindergarten to 12, without specifying courses, time or assessment. A separate 0.5-credit personal financial literacy graduation requirement applies in the high school grades.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-18. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Wisconsin Standards for Personal Financial Literacy (DPI) (2020)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The statute requires standards adoption and incorporation of instruction into the K-12 curriculum but does not name a course, time requirement or assessment. The 2020 DPI standards state that adopting them is voluntary and that districts may use them as guides for local grade-by-grade curriculum; they provide performance indicators in K-2, 3-5 and 6-8 grade bands. Whether the statute applies to each school board is read from the lead-in of s. 121.02(1) ('each school board shall'). Funding for the K-12 requirement was not found in the sources read. Chapter PI 8 (s. PI 8.01) was searched for financial or economic terms and none were found.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
0.5 credit
Effective date
Pupils graduating from high school in 2028

Wis. Stat. 118.33(1)(a)1.f. requires at least 0.5 credit of personal financial literacy covering six named areas. DPI's FAQ states the course must be taught at the 9-12 level and be a stand-alone credit.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.