State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
Wyoming
Requirement, grades not specified
Wyoming Statute 21-9-101(b) says each school district shall provide educational programs sufficient to meet content and performance standards in the common core of knowledge and skills, which includes life skills including personal financial management skills, and it names no grade or course. The currently adopted social studies standards include money, banking, savings and budgeting benchmarks at the end of grades 5 and 8.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Not specified
- Grade range
- No grade or grade range is named
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- K-2, 3-5, 6-8
- Standards document
- Wyoming Content and Performance Standards, Social Studies (2014 with 2018 Additions), as incorporated by Chapter 10 (effective 07/17/2024) and compiled in the 2025 grade-level compilations (2014/2018)
- Required by law
- Not determined
- Delivery
- Embedded in another subject
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- No
- Course length
- Not stated
- Effective date
- Not stated
What’s missing for K-8
- The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
Pending bills
No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.