Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

California

Requirement before grade 9

California Education Code 51220 says the adopted course of study for grades 7 to 12 shall offer courses in the social sciences, whose instruction shall provide a foundation for understanding personal financial literacy, so it reaches grades 7 and 8. Education Code 51225.3 separately requires a personal finance course for students graduating in 2030-31 and later.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 7
Grade range
grades 7-12, offer courses

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
7, 8
Standards document
California History-Social Science Framework (State Board of Education adopted July 2016), Chapter 2 and Chapter 4 (Grade One) (2016)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Framework text read on cde.ca.gov: Chapter 2 (K-5) says students begin to learn about personal finance, and Chapter 4 (grade one) says first graders can understand budgets and that these topics are a foundation for later financial-literacy instruction. Chapters 3, 5-8 and 10-12 were read in the fetched text and no financial-literacy wording was found in them, so grade 6-8 coverage is not confirmed. Education Code 51284.5 (as amended by AB 2927) directs the Commission only to consider K-5 and 6-8 content in a framework revised after Jan. 1, 2017; whether a revised framework has been adopted was not confirmed. The framework is guidance, not a statute requiring the topic.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Separate, stand-alone one-semester personal finance course
Effective date
Pupils graduating in 2030-31; offered in all high schools from 2027-28

AB 2927 (Stats. 2024, ch. 37) adds 51225.3(a)(1)(H); a pupil who completes it may elect exemption from the one-semester economics requirement. State board curriculum guide due May 31, 2026: adoption not verified.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.