Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Arkansas

K-8 standards only

Arkansas K-8 social studies standards (2022) include economics items on saving, banks and credit in grades K-8, and the Standards for Accreditation require social studies instruction every year in K-8. Arkansas Code 6-16-135 and accreditation rule 1-C.2.4 require personal and family finance only as a grade 9-12 credit, and no K-8 personal finance mandate was found.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Arkansas Social Studies Standards 2022 (Grades K-4, 5-6, 7, 8) (2022)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

K-4 items E.1.K.7 (saving) through E.1.4.7 (financial institutions); Grades 5-6, 7 and 8 documents each carry standard E.6 on income, wealth, financial risk and the role of credit in personal finance (grade 7 read on 2026-10-19 but not cited). Each K-8 standards document states that its grade-level social studies is required by the Standards for Accreditation, and rules 1-A.1.1 and 1-A.1.2 require annual social studies instruction in K-8. No K-8 personal finance statute or rule was found; rule 1-C.2.4 and Ark. Code 6-16-135 are grades 9-12.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One credit in a course that includes the personal and family finance standards
Effective date
Entering ninth grade class of 2017-2018

Act 480 of 2017 set the requirement for a course taken in grades 10-12; Act 466 of 2019 added grade 9. The current Arkansas Code text was not read directly; the statute is known only from the amending acts and the ADE graduation requirements document dated 12.3.25.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.