Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Arizona

K-8 standards only

Arizona's History and Social Science Standards (2018, modified 2019) include a financial-literacy economics strand (E1) with personal finance content in every grade 1 through 8, and the Board's course of study must incorporate the adopted standards. No statute or rule read names personal finance as a required K-8 subject, and the only personal-finance requirements read are the high school graduation provisions.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Arizona History and Social Science Standards (Economics strand E1, 'A financially literate individual understands how to manage income, spending, and investment') (2018 (modified 8/23/19))
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Grade-level E1 standards read in the archived official PDF include 1.E1.2 (reasons to save or spend), 3.E1.3 (incentives for saving and spending), 5.E1.1 (financial risks), 8.E1.5 (create a budget), 8.E1.6 (debt), 8.E1.7 (investments) and 8.E1.8 (insurance). A.R.S. 15-701(A)(1) directs the State Board to prescribe a minimum course of study incorporating the adopted standards for the common schools; it does not name personal finance. Whether that makes the standards content a K-8 mandate was not treated as settled. The kindergarten strand text was not individually confirmed.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
At least one-half course credit in economics, which shall include financial literacy and personal financial management
Effective date
Not stated

A.R.S. 15-701.01(A)(2): social studies standards for graduation shall include personal finance; the Board may consider a required separate personal finance course (not mandatory in the text read).

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.