Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Alaska

K-8 standards only

Alaska's Social Studies Standards adopted in December 2024 include personal finance content in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5 and grade 6, and the standards leave decisions on how to meet them to districts and teachers. No K-8 statute or rule requiring financial education was found in the statutes searched.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
No requirement found
Grade range
No requirement found in the text checked

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Standards document
Alaska Social Studies Standards (Department of Education and Early Development) (2024)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Personal finance appears as part of the Economics strand (Anchor Standard 12, Decision-Making and Personal Finance, and Standard 13 on saving and interest) within social studies. The document states that decisions on how to meet the goals are left to districts and teachers. Grades 7-8 content was not found under the personal finance anchor in a text search of the document.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Not determined
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

The state graduation regulation (4 AAC 06.075) could not be read without a bot challenge and is not relied on here. Bills proposing a half-credit program for grades 9-12 were introduced in the 34th Legislature (HB 90 and HB 339 text; the grade range of SB 22 was not confirmed).

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

  • HB 90 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Financial literacy program in schools (grades 9-12). Status: Referred to House Finance; last action listed on the bill page is heard and held on 5/15/2025.
  • SB 22 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Financial literacy program in schools. Status: Referred to Senate Finance; last action listed on the bill page is heard and held on 4/4/2025.
  • HB 339 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Personal finance program in schools (grades 9-12). Status: Introduced 2/23/2026 and referred to House Education; no later action listed.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.