Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Alabama

No K-8 personal-finance standards found

Alabama law requires a personal financial literacy course for students entering ninth grade in 2024-25 and later (HB164 and State Board rule 290-3-1-.02), and no K-8 requirement was found. The 2024 social studies course of study names earning, saving and spending only in kindergarten, so its K-8 standards do not name a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K
Standards document
2024 Alabama Course of Study: Social Studies (2024)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
No
Funded
Not determined

Kindergarten economics standards 4-6 cover earning, saving and spending money, exchange, and needs versus wants; grade 1 standard 3a covers using money to acquire goods and services. Grades 2-8 social studies and the 2019 Mathematics Course of Study were not fully reviewed for personal finance content. The preface states the content standards are minimum and required under Code of Alabama 16-35-4 (the statute text itself was not read); no statute or rule read here requires a stand-alone K-8 financial education course or assessment.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Course in personal financial literacy and money management; Rule 290-3-1-.02 lists Career Preparedness (1 credit) and the financial literacy instruction and examination are completed as part of that course
Effective date
Students entering ninth grade in the 2024-2025 school year

HB164 (2023) requires each such student to complete the course before graduation, and requires the State Department of Education to create a financial literacy examination. Rule 290-3-1-.02(22)(c) sets a 50-question multiple-choice examination completed as part of the required career preparedness course.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement for high school. No requirement for any grade before ninth, and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels, were found. That describes what was found, not proof that none exist.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.