Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Colorado

K-8 standards only

The Colorado Academic Standards (adopted 2022) include Personal Financial Literacy expectations for every grade from preschool through high school, and a 2025 law (HB25-1192) requires each district's students to complete a course covering the high school financial literacy standards to graduate. The sources reviewed contain no statute or rule requiring financial literacy instruction in a named K-8 grade.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-18. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Colorado Academic Standards: Financial Literacy (Social Studies Standard 5, Personal Financial Literacy), Preschool-12 (2022)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The standards document has a Personal Financial Literacy page for each grade K-8 (for example FL.K.5.1, FL.7.5.1, FL.8.5.1), organized under social studies. The statute C.R.S. 22-32-135 is described by CDE as strongly encouraging, not requiring, districts to adopt personal financial literacy curriculum. Whether the state standards bind districts for K-8 instruction (the standards document says districts are expected to implement the social studies standards by fall 2024) is a reading judgement, so confidence is medium. Assessment and funding for K-8 were not found; the HB25-1192 appropriation targets the high school course.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
2025-08-06

HB25-1192 (signed 2025-05-23, effective 2025-08-06 per the legislature's bill page) amended C.R.S. 22-32-135(4) so that all the high school financial literacy standards are incorporated into a course required for graduation. Beginning 2027-28, each student's ICAP must include exposure to federal and state financial aid tools. Course length is not specified in the sources read.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.