Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Connecticut

Requirement, grades not specified

Connecticut General Statute 10-16b(a) says the public school program of instruction shall include personal financial management and financial literacy, without naming a grade, and 10-16b(c) requires an annual attestation that the program is offered. The only grade-specific requirement found is the half credit for the class of 2027 in 10-221a(d)(6), and the K-8 model curriculum in 10-25b may be used in whole or in part.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not specified
Grade range
No grade or grade range is named

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
Connecticut Elementary and Secondary Social Studies Standards (2023)
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

10-16b(a) lists personal financial management and financial literacy among subjects the public school program of instruction 'shall include' and 10-16b(c) requires boards to attest annually that they offer that program, but neither names grades or minutes. 10-25b(b) says the K-8 model curriculum must be in accordance with 10-16b and must include and integrate personal financial management and financial literacy, but the model curriculum 'may be used in whole or in part' by any board, so it is voluntary. The 2023 social studies standards contain K-8 economics standards touching banks, earning income and budgeting (K.Eco.9.a, K.Eco.6.a, 2.Eco.1.a) and no stand-alone personal finance strand was found. The CSDE Finance/CTE personal finance page (portal.ct.gov) returned a 404 page and the course kit and crosswalks found are high school or CTE guidance.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half credit in personal financial management and financial literacy (may count toward humanities or STEM credits or as an elective)
Effective date
Classes graduating in 2027 and each class thereafter

Section 10-221a(d)(6), within the 25 credits required for graduation.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.