Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Delaware

K-8 standards only

Delaware's State Board of Education approved K-12 Financial Literacy Content Standards (clusters K-3, 4-5, 6-8, 9-12), which state regulation adopts as the basis for local curriculum from 2018-19. State law requires a half-credit financial literacy course for a high school diploma starting with students entering grade 9 in 2026-27, and no text found requires a specific K-8 course or grade.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not confirmed
Grade range
The text could not be read

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
Delaware K-12 Financial Literacy Standards (State Board approved January 2018) (2018)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Standards exist for K-3, 4-5 and 6-8 clusters. Regulation 501 (as amended in 2018, read in the Register notice) adopts them as the basis for curriculum, with local curricula to align on a Department timeline; it does not name a grade or course in which financial literacy must be taught. The 2026 Department report (HR 31) describes standards implementation as local curricula aligned to the standards and mentions K-8 scope and sequence resources. The current codified text of 14 DE Admin. Code 501 on regulations.delaware.gov (a script-rendered site) was not read; the 2018 Register notice was used instead.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
1/2 credit in financial literacy, as part of social studies or elective credits
Effective date
Students entering grade 9 in the 2026-2027 school year

14 Del. C. 4152 (added by 85 Del. Laws c. 224, signed September 19, 2025) requires school districts and charter schools serving high school students to provide the course; the Session Law text also says the half credit must align to the current Financial Literacy Standards.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.