Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

District of Columbia

K-8 standards only

The District's K-12 Social Studies Standards (June 2023) include personal-finance items in kindergarten, grade 1 and grade 8, but no District code section or municipal regulation found requires financial education in grades K-8. OSSE's 2024 Financial Literacy Standards cover grades 9-12 as a standalone elective, and the 24-unit graduation rule (5-A DCMR 2203) lists no financial literacy course.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
No requirement found
Grade range
No requirement found in the text checked

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 8
Standards document
Washington, DC K-12 Social Studies Standards, 2023 Standards (OSSE) (2023)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Items found in the social studies standards: K.24 (wants versus needs), K.25 (why people save money and resources), 1.32 (income), 1.34 (personal savings and spending) and 8.17 (policies and personal savings). Other grades and the math standards were not fully reviewed. D.C. Code 38-731.02 only directs the Mayor to submit a plan for financial literacy education in public schools; the text read does not set grade-level instruction. Whether the Council or Mayor acted on that plan was not researched. Legislative bill search for the current session (Council period 26) was not done reliably.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
2024-25

OSSE adopted Financial Literacy Standards (grades 9-12) in March 2024 after a State Board of Education vote; they are intended for a standalone elective course beginning school year 2024-25. The 5-A DCMR 2203 text read lists 24 Carnegie Units and does not name a financial literacy course (the PDF copy hosted by OSSE may not reflect later amendments).

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.