Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Florida

K-8 standards only

Florida's Next Generation Sunshine State Standards for Social Studies include a Financial Literacy strand with benchmarks in grades 4 and 8, and Section 1003.42 requires instruction designed to meet State Board social studies standards. The statute text read does not name financial literacy as required instruction in any K-8 grade; the half-credit personal financial literacy course is a high school graduation requirement.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
4, 8
Standards document
Next Generation Sunshine State Standards for Social Studies (Financial Literacy strand added, revised June 2014) (2014)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The 2014 standards document read lists Financial Literacy strand benchmarks (SS.4.FL and SS.8.FL) within the social studies standards for grades 4 and 8. Section 1003.42(1)(a) requires districts to provide instruction designed to ensure students meet State Board adopted standards in social studies, which is a general subject-level requirement and does not name financial literacy or a K-8 grade. Whether these 2014 benchmarks remain the current version, and whether other K-8 grades carry financial literacy benchmarks, was not confirmed because fldoe.org and CPALMS standards pages could not be read. Treat as a judgement call.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half credit in personal financial literacy and money management
Effective date
Students entering grade 9 in the 2023-2024 school year and thereafter

Section 1003.4282(3)(h) lists topics including bank accounts, balancing a checkbook, money management, credit and debt, and completing a loan application.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.