State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
Georgia
K-8 standards only
Georgia's social studies standards (Georgia Standards of Excellence) include personal finance content in every grade from kindergarten through 8, for example saving and spending in grades 1-3 and a personal budget in grades 4-5. The only financial literacy statute read (Georgia Code 20-2-149.4, enacted by 2022 SB 220) is a half-credit course in grade 11 or 12, and no K-8 financial literacy requirement was found.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Grade 11
- Grade range
- grades 11-12
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
- Standards document
- Georgia Standards of Excellence, Social Studies (K-8 economics strand)
- Required by law
- Not determined
- Delivery
- Not stated
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- Yes
- Course length
- half-credit course in financial literacy, during grade 11 or 12
- Effective date
- 2024-2025 school year
What’s missing for K-8
- State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.
Pending bills
- HB 674 (2025-2026): Would amend O.C.G.A. 20-2-149.4 to require financial literacy and money management content standards and instruction in grades four and five. Status: Not on the Governor's 2026 signed-legislation list or 2026 vetoed list as read on 2026-10-19; legislative action history not readable (legis.ga.gov bot check), so passage or failure is not confirmed from the legislature.
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.