Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Texas

Requirement before grade 9

Texas Education Code 28.0021(a) directs that the state's essential knowledge and skills (TEKS) include personal financial literacy in mathematics instruction in kindergarten through grade eight, and the adopted Chapter 111 mathematics TEKS contain a personal financial literacy strand in each of those grades. Districts must implement the TEKS; the statute does not itself prescribe a separate K-8 course, assessment, or funding.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Mathematics, 19 TAC Chapter 111, Subchapters A and B (2012 adoption) (2012)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Delivery is within mathematics instruction (TEC 28.0021(a)(1)). Each grade K-8 TEKS in 19 TAC 111.2-111.7 and 111.26-111.28 has a 'Personal financial literacy' student expectation strand; the 2025 middle school advanced mathematics sections (111.29-111.31) also include one. Whether the topic is assessed or separately funded was not verified. The current-effect Chapter 111 documents retrieved are TEA postings of the rule text; a statewide mathematics TEKS review may revise them. Chapter 118 (economics) was not retrieved and is not relied on.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
one-half credit personal financial literacy course
Effective date
Students entering grade 9 in 2026-2027 or later (HB 27, 89th Legislature, R.S.)

TEC 28.0021(b) requires districts with a high school program to offer a one-half credit elective course in personal financial literacy. HB 27 (2025) amends TEC 28.025(b-1) so that the foundation program social studies credits include at least one-half credit in personal financial literacy for the 2026-2027 ninth-grade cohort and later; SBOE has proposed new 19 TAC 113.26 to align the course TEKS.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.