Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Utah

K-8 standards only

Utah Code 53E-3-505 directs the State Board of Education to integrate financial and economic literacy into instruction in kindergarten through grade 12 by coordinating it with other core standards. The statute and Rule R277-704 do not set grade-specific K-8 instruction for schools; the General Financial Literacy course is a high school graduation requirement.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2
Standards document
Utah Elementary Social Studies Standards, Vertical Alignment of Strands (updated February 2026) (2026)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
No
Funded
Not determined

Economics standards K.4.3, 1.4.1 and 2.4.1 touch on spending, saving and sharing. Grades 3-6 economics standards in the K-6 vertical alignment document were not found to contain comparable items; grade 6, grades 7-8 social studies, and math standards beyond a grade 2 money word problem were not fully reviewed.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
0.5 credit (General Financial Literacy)
Effective date
Not stated

USBE lists General Financial Literacy as a required 0.5-credit course for high school graduation (its page lists grades 11-12). Utah Code 53E-4-204(1)(c) refers to grade 9-12 core standards and graduation requirements including general financial literacy. The exact graduation-credit rule text (R277-700 series) was not reviewed.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.