Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Vermont

K-8 standards only

The Vermont State Board of Education adopted the Jump$tart K-12 personal finance standards in 2018, and supervisory unions must align curriculum with Board-approved standards, but the statutory minimum course of study does not name personal finance. No state rule or statute sets a grade-specific K-8 financial education requirement, and graduation requirements are set locally.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
No requirement found
Grade range
No requirement found in the text checked

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
Jump$tart National Standards in K-12 Personal Finance Education (adopted by the Vermont State Board of Education) (2018)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Agency of Education testimony says the Board adopted the standards understanding personal finance could be taught within several content areas or a stand-alone class. The standards document itself was not read (education.vermont.gov blocked automated access), so K-8 coverage rests on the K-12 title and the Agency's description.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

Rule 2120.8 leaves graduation requirements to each secondary school board. H.228 (2023-2024), which would have required a semester-long personal finance course for a diploma, was opposed by the Agency of Education; its final status was not confirmed here.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.