Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Oregon

Requirement, grades not specified

Oregon Revised Statutes 329.045(3)(a) says school districts and public charter schools must offer students instruction in personal financial education and names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8. The half credit in ORS 329.451 is a high school graduation requirement, and the 2024 social studies standards name personal-finance concepts at several K-8 grade levels.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Not specified
Grade range
No grade or grade range is named, offer courses

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6-7, 7, 8
Standards document
Oregon K-12 Social Science Standards (Economics: Earning, Saving, and Spending strand), version 2024.1 (2024)
Required by law
Not determined
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

K-8 financial content appears as the Earning, Saving, and Spending concept within Economics in the social science standards (for example K.E.ES.1, 5.E.ES.1, 8.E.ES.3). ORS 329.045(3)(a) says districts must offer instruction in personal financial education but does not name grades; the named Personal Financial Education standards (HS.PFE) are high school standards. Whether the general statute requires K-8 instruction is a judgement call, so no K-8 mandate is asserted. Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR chapter 581, division 22) were not read, so rule-level K-8 requirements were not confirmed.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One half-credit of personal financial education (within 24 total credits, while in grades 9-12)
Effective date
2027-01-01

ORS 329.451(2)(a)(E) lists one half-credit of personal financial education; the amendments apply to diplomas awarded on or after January 1, 2027, with a one-year waiver available to districts lacking qualified educators.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement to provide personal-finance instruction that names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.