Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

Pennsylvania

Requirement before grade 9

Pennsylvania's State Board of Education final-form Chapter 4 rulemaking lists Personal Finance among the areas of planned instruction for the primary, intermediate and middle levels, aligned to new Appendix F standards that apply from July 1, 2026. Separately, Act 35 of 2023 requires a mandatory half-credit personal financial literacy course in grades 9-12 beginning in 2026-27.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Kindergarten
Grade range
kindergarten to grade 8 (elementary and middle levels named)

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades required
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Academic Standards for Personal Finance, 22 Pa. Code Chapter 4, Appendix F (K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12 bands) (2024)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Per the final-form text read, primary and intermediate levels: every student every year; middle level: every student in the middle level program. The text allows a separate course or an instructional unit within another course or interdisciplinary activity (primary: separate course or other interdisciplinary activity). Grades are inferred from the rule's level names (primary, intermediate, middle). The text read is the Board-approved final-form annex (approved Sept. 12, 2024); the codified text in the Pennsylvania Code was not reachable (pacodeandbulletin.gov robots.txt disallows crawling), and the Bulletin publication date was not confirmed. No statewide assessment or dedicated funding for K-8 personal finance was found in the sources read.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
At least one-half credit, completed once during grade 9, 10, 11 or 12
Effective date
2026-27 school year

Act 35 of 2023 added subsection (b.1) to Section 1551 of the Public School Code; applies to school entities and nonpublic schools.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A requirement was found that reaches a grade before ninth (K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.