Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026

South Carolina

No K-8 personal-finance standards found

South Carolina Code 59-29-165 and 59-29-410 require financial literacy only in high school, and section 59-29-430 only directs the State Board to incorporate it into K-12 standards. Only grade 2 of the K-8 social studies standards names personal-finance concepts (income, savings, spending, budget), so the two-grade-level rule is not met.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction

What the law says

Requirement coverage

Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12

Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
2
Standards document
South Carolina Social Studies College- and Career-Ready Standards (2019) (2019)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Grade 2 Standard 3 (Economics) includes indicators 2.E.1 to 2.E.3 on income, savings, spending and creating a simple budget. Kindergarten indicators cover wants and needs, which was not counted as personal finance. Grades 3-8 economics indicators were text-searched for savings, credit, loan, invest and budget terms and none were found outside grade 2. Section 59-29-430 directs the Board to incorporate the financial literacy elements into the K-12 standards, but 59-29-410 frames the instruction program as high school. The SCDE financial literacy page states that instruction shall be incorporated within current courses for all school students. That page is an agency statement, and the statutory text read refers to high schools. Confidence is medium because whether this amounts to a K-8 instructional requirement is a reading of general language. A 2026 cyclical review of the social studies standards exists; the 2019 standards were treated as current and the review was not read for financial content.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
0.5 credit in financial literacy; one credit in CATE Personal Finance earns the half credit
Effective date
Freshman class of 2023-24

S.C. Code 59-29-165 requires instruction in personal finance for all students attending a public-funds high school. State Board regulation R.43-234 requires a half credit in financial literacy for the high school diploma, beginning with the freshman class of 2023-24. A separate half-credit Economics requirement also exists.

What’s missing for K-8

  • The sources reviewed show a requirement for high school. No requirement for any grade before ninth, and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels, were found. That describes what was found, not proof that none exist.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.