State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
South Dakota
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
South Dakota Administrative Rule 24:43:11:02(6) requires one-half unit of personal finance or economics for high school graduation, with the units earned in grades 9-12, and no K-8 requirement was found. Only grade 1 of the K-8 social studies standards names a personal-finance concept (saving, inside a trade-off example), and a kindergarten vocabulary list does not count, so the two-grade-level rule is not met.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
Earliest grade covered
Grade 9
Grade range
grades 9-12
Describes the instruction requirement found in law, not the standards. It may reach at least one grade before ninth (the earliest grade is shown, and some start only in grade 6 or 7), no grade at all (not specified), or high school only. \u201cOffer courses\u201d means the law says districts must offer the courses or instruction, not that every student must receive it.
Grades K-8
Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
South Dakota Social Studies Standards (economics-tagged items in K-8) (2023)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined
No K-8 requirement found. DOE page: content standards do not mandate a specific curriculum. Economics-tagged K-8 items read: K.SS.1.M money/borrow/buy/sell vocabulary; 1.SS.1.F-H goods, services and a trade-off 'when working, buying, selling, and saving'; 5.SS.1.A-C resources, supply and demand; 5th-grade colonial economies. No K-8 items on budgeting, earning income, credit, interest or investing were found in the full-text scan. The separate Personal Finance standards (adopted May 2022) are a CTE course document.
Grades 9-12
Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit of personal finance or economics
Effective date
Not stated
ARSD 24:43:11:02(6) lists personal finance or economics as alternatives; ARSD 24:43:11:01 says required units must be earned in grades 9 through 12.
What’s missing for K-8
The sources reviewed show a requirement for high school. No requirement for any grade before ninth, and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels, were found. That describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Pending bills
No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.
How to read the status
Status key
Requirement before grade 9
A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
Requirement, grades not specified
A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
K-8 standards only
State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
No K-8 personal-finance standards found
A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.