State review · Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026
Washington
K-8 standards only
Washington's K-12 financial education learning standards, initially adopted by OSPI in May 2026, include grade-level standards for K-5 and a grade band for 6-8, but the statute read only requires districts to give grade 9-12 students the opportunity to access them. OSPI materials say K-5 teachers may consider incorporating the standards, and a May 2026 bulletin says the standards are expected to be required to be taught beginning in 2028-29 once finally adopted.
Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-19. Report a correction
What the law says
Requirement coverage
- Earliest grade covered
- Grade 9
- Grade range
- grades 9-12
Grades K-8
- Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
- None found
- Standards document
- Initial Washington State K-12 Learning Standards for Financial Education (2026)
- Required by law
- No
- Delivery
- Embedded in another subject
- Assessed
- Not determined
- Funded
- Not determined
Grades 9-12
- Graduation requirement
- No
- Course length
- Not stated
- Effective date
- Not stated
What’s missing for K-8
- State standards name personal-finance concepts at two or more K-8 grade levels, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach them.
Pending bills
- HB 1285 (2025-26 biennium (2025 Regular Session; retained in 2026)): Making financial education instruction a graduation requirement in public schools.. Status: Passed the House 94-3 on 2025-03-05; returned from Senate committee to House Rules by resolution on 2025-04-27; reintroduced and retained in present status 2026-01-12; current status HRules 3C.
- SB 5849 (2025-26 biennium (2026 Regular Session)): Making financial education a graduation requirement in Washington state.. Status: Public hearing held in Senate Early Learning & K-12 Education on 2026-02-04; no later action shown.
How to read the status
Status key
- Requirement before grade 9
- A statute or rule requires financial education and reaches at least one grade before ninth. Some start only in grade 6 or 7; the earliest grade is shown with the label.
- Requirement, grades not specified
- A statute or rule says students shall receive financial-literacy instruction but names no grade, so it is not confirmed to reach K-8.
- K-8 standards only
- State standards name a personal-finance concept at two or more K-8 grade levels, but no requirement to teach it was found.
- No K-8 personal-finance standards found
- A high school requirement exists, but no requirement for any grade before ninth and no K-8 standards naming a personal-finance concept at two or more grade levels were found. This describes what was found, not proof that none exist.
- Study or pilot only
- A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
- None found
- No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
- Under review
- Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
- Research in progress
- This state has not been researched yet.